Newbie workflow help on curved stock

MustStayBusy

Newbie workflow help on curved stock

Post by MustStayBusy » Tue Jan 01, 2019 7:09 pm

I'm a newbie when it comes to cnc and I'm very interested in the Shapeoko 3.
My big question right now is using the S03 on curved stock. I've downloaded vcarve pro and have imported a curved stock stl file (just a simple polygon) but when I show the 3d view the view does not display the curved stock just a rectangle so I'm trying to verify that I can actually use the software to evenly carve over a curved surface? Does anyone have pictures, etc?

I've also seen g code ripper and it seems to be able to map an object and adjust the g code, using a digitizing probe and I've read just about everything that I can find but I'm still not sure that I can accomplish what I want. What would that workflow look like? Would it be create the project on square stock in vcarve pro or any other program, save the gcode file, map the curved surface using g code ripper, saving the adjusted file and then run the adjusted file in carbide motion or vcarve pro?

If any of this is correct is there a better way to do this using other software/methods?

WillAdams
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15

Re: Newbie workflow help on curved stock

Post by WillAdams » Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:21 pm

The best thing is to model the curve in a 3D CAD program.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

MustStayBusy

Post by MustStayBusy » Thu Jan 03, 2019 1:52 am

So something like fusion 360 or do you have other suggestions?

WillAdams
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15

Post by WillAdams » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:57 pm

Depends on how you want to work --- I always use OpenSCAD, want to learn Solvespace, and am trying to learn Toolpath Language.