Page 1 of 1

touch probe

Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 10:15 am
by Jeff
What is the thinnest wood you can use the touch probe on to do XYZ ?
Also on when using the paper method to touch set the XYZ on how many screens do you hit the Zero or zero ALL In Carbide motion.?
Jeff

Re: touch probe

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 12:58 am
by WillAdams
The lip is 3mm in height, so stock needs to be comfortably thicker than that, say 1/8"

If I'm using the Probe, I let it set the zero and don't need to zero manually, see: https://docs.carbide3d.com/assembly/tou ... /userguide

Re: touch probe

Posted: Mon Dec 02, 2019 10:52 pm
by Jeff
Ok so I want to under stand how to use the probe correctly .
to be able to touch off using my machine bed to set my Z.
So I put the probe on top of my material set it so it is even with the x side and probe. Or do I hit the done button after each probe?
do nothing else then put the probe flush on top of the material at the y side and do that probe then do nothing.
Then jog so to be able to get to the spoil board lay the probe down on it do the z probe then do nothing but hit the done button.?
Then load the file and run that toolpath. To do a tool change then jog set up the probe change the tool and do the z probe and then run that file.
Is this all correct?
Jeff

Re: touch probe

Posted: Sat Dec 07, 2019 9:31 am
by WillAdams
Yes, that's pretty much it.

You may want to see our new BitSetter (see discussion on the Carbide 3D forums) to further simplify the process.

Re: touch probe

Posted: Sat Dec 07, 2019 12:06 pm
by Jeff
I am sorry to say that the info I got to post here on my how to use the touch probe came from you tube. and not from carbide 3d like it should have.
Been able to do none of video they put out say anything about using the done button or the zero- zero all buttons.
Jeff