Need help figuring things out

Talk about all things CNC
kyorinsuu

Need help figuring things out

Post by kyorinsuu » Thu May 16, 2013 3:42 am

Hi guys I'm new to the Shapeoko community and I'm pretty interested in building one. I'm a bit lost in terms of electronics and some of the materials needed to complete the build and would really be grateful if someone could help me.
Right now I'm thinking of buying the $225 kit with a pair of 1m Makerslide to get a longer cutting area plus a 2nd motor mount for the gantry. So far no problem, I was thinking of using 5 Nema 23 for the motors since we have 4 of the ones Inventables sells in stock here in our shop so i was thinking of buying the Nema 23 mount for the Z axis to allow me to mount it. So here is where things get a bit problematic I have an old desktop I can use dedicated for the Shapeoko plus it already has Mach3 since it was used before for a CNC Mill/Lathe combo. What I wanted to know was how to make this build work with that computer and Mach3 instead of GRBL? What can I use as a power supply for all of these components?
What would be the ebst spindle to use between the DW660 and the DWP611? Can any of these cut things like aluminum? Is there any spindle that already brings a way to control the speed or would i have to buy a SuperPID?

So I guess apart from this my other questions are:
If I put Z axis upgrade kit will I not be able to put a Nema 23 Z axis kit?
Does anyone sell mounts for the DWP611? and a dust shoe?
What are good end mills to buy 1/8, 1/16 or what? & where do you buy from?

Thanks in advance to everyone and hopefully ill be able to make this awesome build =P

cvoinescu

Re: Need help figuring things out

Post by cvoinescu » Thu May 16, 2013 8:19 am

Unless your NEMA23 motors have 5 mm shafts (those exist but are rare), you'll need the 1/4" (6.35 mm) bore belt pulleys for the X and Y axes, and a 6.35 mm to 8 mm flexible coupler for the Z axis.