DW660 Dust Shoe DWG File

Talk about all things CNC
Post Reply
TheMonkeyStink
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 3:41 am

DW660 Dust Shoe DWG File

Post by TheMonkeyStink » Fri Jun 20, 2014 5:58 pm

Hey All,

Has anybody had any issues opening IC's DW660 dust shoe file? Regardless of what I open it in the dimension are *way* outta whack. As I understand it, the units of measure are set at the time the file is generated...and that jives with my attempts to fix the issue (my unsuccessful attempts, mind you). My best guess is that the mm's are being read as inches. Right now I'm reading 110 in from side to side, which converted to cm would give me ~4in. Any of you CAD whizs have any ideas?

BTW, I've tried Fusion 360, Autocad 360, and TrueView.
________________________________________
Shapeoko 2 #5177: DW660 with nema 23. Acme Z axis (I believe these come from the same company that Wile E. Coyote gets his stuff)
# of failed cuts (a.k.a. Shapeoko Ohnos): 7
# of successful cuts: 12

scott216
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:35 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: DW660 Dust Shoe DWG File

Post by scott216 » Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:53 pm

Can you post a link to the file? Usually dimensions are way off if it's saved in mm and you import as inch or visa-verse.
Shapeoko v2 with DW660
GRBL v0.9i
Location: New Jersey

TheMonkeyStink
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 3:41 am

Re: DW660 Dust Shoe DWG File

Post by TheMonkeyStink » Tue Jun 24, 2014 12:46 pm

I'm using the file IC provided on the wiki:

http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/ ... _Dust_Shoe

I did some measurements on my DW660 and the drawing was off by a factor of 25.4, so it was just a matter of units.

It may be my oh-so-crappy understanding of CAD, but I thought the units of a drawing were set at save and after that they were immutable.
________________________________________
Shapeoko 2 #5177: DW660 with nema 23. Acme Z axis (I believe these come from the same company that Wile E. Coyote gets his stuff)
# of failed cuts (a.k.a. Shapeoko Ohnos): 7
# of successful cuts: 12

WillAdams
Posts: 8541
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: DW660 Dust Shoe DWG File

Post by WillAdams » Tue Jun 24, 2014 1:09 pm

No, unfortunately, while the units used for a drawing get instantiated when it's saved, which unit was used is not a part of the file format and must be set when the file is opened.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

Improbable Construct
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL
Contact:

Re: DW660 Dust Shoe DWG File

Post by Improbable Construct » Tue Jun 24, 2014 2:06 pm

Copied from the AutoCAD forums:

If you simply change the unit to inches, then a line that used to be 1mm in
the drawing will now be 25.4 millimeters. If you use a dimension style that
is set for fractional, it will still call that line 1 unit long.

Drawings in model space are normally drawn at true size.

You will need to go to model space, select the entire drawing and scale it
correctly.

Try scaling the entire drawing by 10/254.

This way what used to be 1 unit (millimeters) in the drawing will now be
1/25.4 of a unit.

What used to be 25.4 units (millimeters) in the drawing will now be one
unit, and you can now set your units for inches, and use a dimension style
that is fractional or architectural if you desire, and the dimensions will
be correct for what was originally drawn in millimeters.

AutoCAD draws in units. It only knows that. If the drawing was previously
drawn with the "unit" being a millimeter, then that is what a line that is
"1" unit long will be. It will be one millimeter long.

If you now call that line that is 1 unit long an inch, your dimensions will
be off by a factor or 25.4. That is why you need to scale the actual drawing
in model space.

Changing the unit for the drawing does not re-scale the drawing to a new
unit.
Shapeoko #Classified some of the bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock
Shapeoko 3 # 0003
Store:
http://ImprobableConstruct.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct

Post Reply