Good deal on a 3D Printer

Talk about all things CNC
twforeman
Posts: 1351
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:51 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Good deal on a 3D Printer

Post by twforeman » Wed Feb 18, 2015 9:49 pm

I'm hoping that the Atlas project will release the BOM and STL files soon. A 3D scanner would be very useful for the items I tend to make and would improve my workflow immensely.
Ender 3 3D Printer
ShapeOko v3 serial #0004 - upgrade thread
All of my ShapeOko related blog posts

akhlut
Posts: 304
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:16 am

Re: Good deal on a 3D Printer

Post by akhlut » Wed Feb 18, 2015 10:20 pm

The arduino has nothing to do with image processing - it only drives the stepper and lasers. The camera connects to your PC and the software coordinates the two subsystems. Image processing is done on the PC. And I'm thinking the software is hardware agnostic, so you can put any webcam you like on there. But after all you're generating a mesh that your printer will never be able to faithfully reproduce at 1:1. Even at higher ratios like 2:1 or 3:1 where the extra resolution might come in handy you're more than likely outside the printers envelope.


If you look at the website everything is there. The shield, the firmware, the scanning software and the hardware.

And the repos:
https://github.com/bq/horus
https://github.com/bq/horus-fw
https://github.com/bq/ciclop
https://github.com/bq/zum

I can see how you missed them - the links are not too easy to find.

twforeman
Posts: 1351
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:51 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Good deal on a 3D Printer

Post by twforeman » Thu Feb 19, 2015 1:01 am

That BQ scanner looks cool, and this article: http://www.3ders.org/articles/20150202- ... tware.html makes it sound like they are going to produce a kit with the shield and everything, but there is no sign of it on the BQ website yet.
Ender 3 3D Printer
ShapeOko v3 serial #0004 - upgrade thread
All of my ShapeOko related blog posts

Gadgetman!
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 12:44 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Good deal on a 3D Printer

Post by Gadgetman! » Thu Feb 19, 2015 6:03 am

All backers have access to most of the .STLs for the Atlas already.
(The links are in the 'backers only updates)
But some of the parts are being redesigned to fit smaller 3D printers.
Weird guy...
Shapeoko 2014F: 1000mm X/Y, 300W Quiet Cut spindle, Arduino Uno/G-shield and GRBL 0.9i
15x30 drag chains, custom spindle mount, 9mm belts, 8mm endplates, 6mm motor plates.

Fergyz
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 9:31 pm

Re: Good deal on a 3D Printer

Post by Fergyz » Thu Mar 05, 2015 8:12 am

twforeman wrote:Since I don't seem to have enough projects in my life yet I decided I needed a 3D printer. :roll:

I found a place in China selling a Prusa i3 clone for $360 shipped.

https://www.3dprintersonlinestore.com/d ... usa-i3-kit

Now I need to come up with a 3D scanner system and I'll be ready to take over the world! :)

Is anybody using the Autodesk 1-2-3Catch process yet?
did you actually purchase one? if so, how is it?

twforeman
Posts: 1351
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:51 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Good deal on a 3D Printer

Post by twforeman » Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:37 pm

Fergyz wrote:
twforeman wrote:Since I don't seem to have enough projects in my life yet I decided I needed a 3D printer. :roll:

I found a place in China selling a Prusa i3 clone for $360 shipped.

https://www.3dprintersonlinestore.com/d ... usa-i3-kit

Now I need to come up with a 3D scanner system and I'll be ready to take over the world! :)

Is anybody using the Autodesk 1-2-3Catch process yet?
did you actually purchase one? if so, how is it?
I did buy one. Due to Chinese holidays there was a delay in shipping. It's supposed to arrive today.

I'll be putting up a build log and photos when I assemble it.
Ender 3 3D Printer
ShapeOko v3 serial #0004 - upgrade thread
All of my ShapeOko related blog posts

secretspy711
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 7:55 pm
Location: Colorado

Re: Good deal on a 3D Printer

Post by secretspy711 » Thu Mar 05, 2015 9:33 pm

twforeman wrote:Is anybody using the Autodesk 1-2-3Catch process yet?
I just tried this. I was very impressed with the quality achieved by simply taking a bunch of photos of an object. Probably could have done even better if I used more photos. I just did the minimum.

This was printed on the Makerbot Replicator 2X at my office. That is an awesome deal on the Prusa clone. Very interested to see your thoughts on it.
purduesanta.jpg
purduesanta.jpg (82.27 KiB) Viewed 7208 times
Shapeoko 2 #5510: 1200 x 500 mm, Makita RT0701

CastIrony
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:21 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Good deal on a 3D Printer

Post by CastIrony » Thu Mar 05, 2015 9:39 pm

twforeman wrote:I did buy one. Due to Chinese holidays there was a delay in shipping. It's supposed to arrive today.

I'll be putting up a build log and photos when I assemble it.
Looking forward to hearing about it :D
Shapeoko 3 #192 - Complete! Needs limit switches.

Harasi
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 6:48 am

Re: Good deal on a 3D Printer

Post by Harasi » Thu Mar 05, 2015 9:46 pm

Am very interested to hear about this too .. waiting for your build
Shapeoko 2 full kit # unknown .. Makita compact router .. ACME Z axis upgrade kit

Fergyz
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 9:31 pm

Re: Good deal on a 3D Printer

Post by Fergyz » Fri Mar 06, 2015 4:50 am

twforeman wrote:
Fergyz wrote:
twforeman wrote:Since I don't seem to have enough projects in my life yet I decided I needed a 3D printer. :roll:

I found a place in China selling a Prusa i3 clone for $360 shipped.

https://www.3dprintersonlinestore.com/d ... usa-i3-kit

Now I need to come up with a 3D scanner system and I'll be ready to take over the world! :)

Is anybody using the Autodesk 1-2-3Catch process yet?
did you actually purchase one? if so, how is it?
I did buy one. Due to Chinese holidays there was a delay in shipping. It's supposed to arrive today.

I'll be putting up a build log and photos when I assemble it.
The first required upgrade for the US folks is purchasing a new power cable. the one provided is not the correct plug for American outlets.

the second thing you must do after inventorying your package is to set the power supply to 110 volts.

I just received mine yesterday but wont have a chance to put it together until next week at the earliest.

it was packaged well.

Post Reply