Page 7 of 10

Re: How to prepare for Shapeoko 3 - New to CNC

Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 6:42 am
by WillAdams

Re: How to prepare for Shapeoko 3 - New to CNC

Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 10:09 pm
by Questionable
I prepared for the delivery of the Shapeoko 3 by building a HyperSpin Jukebox as a sound enclosure so I can play video games or use as a jukebox while the CNC works it's magic.
Just wanted to share the idea. Good luck out there with whatever you choose to build! Purchased 12/11/14 delivered 4/22/15 Shapeoko #14 I am very happy with my purchase.
Bits by Drillman1 http://www.ebay.com/usr/drillman1?_trks ... 7675.l2559
Dust Shoe by Improbable Construct http://improbable-construct.myshopify.c ... -for-dw611
4-gal. Wet/Dry Vacuum by RIGID http://www.homedepot.com/p/RIDGID-4-gal ... /202077241
Howler Button Leds https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/20 ... controller
SUPERNIGHT 2X5M 5050 Black PCB RGB LED Strip http://www.amazon.com/SUPERNIGHT-Waterp ... +black+pcb

WakeUP @ SheepleTV.com http://www.SheepleTV.com Baaa!
Conspiracy Theories to ponder while you wait for your Shapeoko 3 to be delivered.

; )

- Enjoy!

Re: How to prepare for Shapeoko 3 - New to CNC

Posted: Sat May 30, 2015 1:39 pm
by cdninoh
I have received, assembled and run #184.
I have to say, this is a beautifully made machine.
Having looked through a lot of software options, I chose two from github.com that I liked however, after downloading, I can't seen to un-zip them.
When I try, I get a brief flash of what looks like a DOS screen but nothing else.
Is there a trick I'm missing?
Alex

Re: How to prepare for Shapeoko 3 - New to CNC

Posted: Sat May 30, 2015 1:56 pm
by WillAdams
The most reliable unzipping tool I've used in 7Zip: http://www.7-zip.org/

If you could provide the names of the tools you're having difficulty w/ we can look into them.

Re: How to prepare for Shapeoko 3 - New to CNC

Posted: Sat May 30, 2015 5:43 pm
by cdninoh
Hi Will.
Believe that's the un-zip tool I'm using. (confirmed)
Two programs I've tried are gcode-optimizer-master and universalGcodeSender.
Alex

Re: How to prepare for Shapeoko 3 - New to CNC

Posted: Sat May 30, 2015 6:16 pm
by WillAdams
I suspect then that GitHub’s weird interface has led you to d/l something other than a .zip.

Check your files w/ a text editor and see what they are.

Verify that you got to the d/l page: https://github.com/winder/Universal-G-C ... /downloads and downloaded an appropriate archive from there.

For the optimizer, it shouldn’t be a .zip, but a direct .exe download: https://github.com/alsliahona/gcode-opt ... illopt.exe from the page: https://github.com/alsliahona/gcode-opt ... er/Release

Where / how did you find the latter? First I’ve heard of it that I can recall.

Re: How to prepare for Shapeoko 3 - New to CNC

Posted: Sun May 31, 2015 11:29 pm
by cdninoh
It seems that these programs are Java based.
I've successfully downloaded and, it seems, unzipped them however, every time I try to start them, I see a brief flash of a DOS screen and that's it.

I suppose that I need to find other software. The Carbide Motion program works but (as far as I can tell) is feature-less. Seems odd that you can't calibrate it to the machine you're using.

Working from a Windows 8.1 machine, if that means anything.
Alex

Re: How to prepare for Shapeoko 3 - New to CNC

Posted: Sun May 31, 2015 11:46 pm
by WillAdams
What calibration do you wish to do?

The machine size can be entered into Grbl for soft-limits.

Altering the Z-axis only really makes sense if one has a probe and needs to adapt to a particular surface as when making circuit boards or doing engraving.

Re: How to prepare for Shapeoko 3 - New to CNC

Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 12:42 am
by cdninoh
Boy, I guess I'm really showing my ignorance here.
I built a CNC machine years ago and it used Mach 2 for control.
There, you told the software how many pulses to the inch et al.
I know NOTHING about Grlb and, apparently, GitHub either.
The optimizer says it runs from a "command line" ???????????
Perhaps you should send me to school.

Re: How to prepare for Shapeoko 3 - New to CNC

Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 12:48 am
by cvoinescu
GRBL is not much different from Mach 2, conceptually. The pulses are still there, only they're per millimeter by default.