Upgrading my Y Axis to 1000mm...

Talk about all things CNC
Post Reply
bharbour
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 3:40 pm
Location: Mobile, AL
Contact:

Upgrading my Y Axis to 1000mm...

Post by bharbour » Fri May 15, 2015 7:13 pm

I'm trying to get up a BOM for upgrading my Y axis to 1000mm. Obviously I'll need (from Inventables) 2 X 26049-02 (20mm extrusion), and 2 X 25142-03 (Makerslide). Exactly how much belting should I get for the longer extrusion?

Also...what will I need for wire to go back to the controller for the motors? I will also get the mid-span supports. Am I missing anything? Or maybe you could share your BOM with me if you've done the upgrade...thanks,
No longer have a Shapeoko, but use a machine of my own design...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFY4gC9TqD0
http://deltaguitarworks.tumblr.com

WillAdams
Posts: 8588
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Upgrading my Y Axis to 1000mm...

Post by WillAdams » Fri May 15, 2015 7:29 pm

As I recall, I put various notes from mine (for my SO1) on the wiki:

http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/ ... lt_Lengths

1M Dual-drive (1-axis, two pairs of belts) 7 ft. will work, if belt anchoring is efficient --- 8ft. has length to spare

For wire, I found it most expedient to just buy long lengths of wire, run from the coiled wire, then cut when the run was complete --- I think Inventables has a figure for their 1Mx1M kit --- use 2/3rds of that length?
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

bharbour
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 3:40 pm
Location: Mobile, AL
Contact:

Re: Upgrading my Y Axis to 1000mm...

Post by bharbour » Fri May 15, 2015 7:46 pm

I just realized that I won't need the 20mm extrusions if I'm only upgrading the Y axis. I can use the existing extrusions as the X will be the same width for now.

EDIT...maybe one 20mm extrusion to run down the center of the wasteboard...
No longer have a Shapeoko, but use a machine of my own design...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFY4gC9TqD0
http://deltaguitarworks.tumblr.com

UnequalTech
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:05 am
Location: West Chester, PA

Upgrading my Y Axis to 1000mm...

Post by UnequalTech » Sat May 16, 2015 10:29 pm

What spindle do you have? I get quite a bit of deflection with my Makita even with 2 20x1000 extrusions under y-axis makerslide. Guess it depends on your bed. Definitely recommend mid span supports. Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Shapeoko 2 #?? w/Makita RT 0701C

bharbour
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 3:40 pm
Location: Mobile, AL
Contact:

Re: Upgrading my Y Axis to 1000mm...

Post by bharbour » Mon May 18, 2015 2:19 am

I have the Makita,too. Yea...mid span supports for sure!!
UnequalTech wrote:What spindle do you have? I get quite a bit of deflection with my Makita even with 2 20x1000 extrusions under y-axis makerslide. Guess it depends on your bed. Definitely recommend mid span supports. Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No longer have a Shapeoko, but use a machine of my own design...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFY4gC9TqD0
http://deltaguitarworks.tumblr.com

Post Reply