4th Axis?

Talk about all things CNC
DanMc
Posts: 257
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 3:34 am

Re: 4th Axis?

Post by DanMc » Thu Sep 03, 2015 1:13 pm

4th axis has been on my wish list for a long time now. Personally though I'd like to do an indexed 4th while maintaining the existing X,Y, and Z, this would allow the spindle to have way better access than a Y, Z, A or similar.

adamsd5
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 6:14 am

Re: 4th Axis?

Post by adamsd5 » Tue Apr 19, 2016 3:32 am

I am also interested in the 4th axis, especially as Fusion 360 has 3+1 support now and continuous 4th axis coming.

Would this technique work to control both Y-axis steppers from the same socket?

http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/ ... ries_2.png

This link also talks about connecting two steppers to the same driver:

http://www.shapeoko.com/forum/viewtopic ... 1095#p8814

I imagine there might need to be some software changes to change the second Y-axis to an A-axis. I think I could handle this work. I don't know if there would be too much current drawn from the first Y-axis.

WillAdams
Posts: 8583
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: 4th Axis?

Post by WillAdams » Tue Apr 19, 2016 3:49 am

No. That allows driving one axis w/ two motors turning opposite.

One ingenious alternative is to use a 4th axis driven by a rack and pinion.

Other ideas on the wiki: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/ ... ional_Axis
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

PsyKo
Posts: 430
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:42 pm
Location: France

Re: 4th Axis?

Post by PsyKo » Tue Apr 19, 2016 7:48 am

adamsd5 wrote:I am also interested in the 4th axis, especially as Fusion 360 has 3+1 support now and continuous 4th axis coming.
Did you find any date for this feature ? Any forum thread, any mail or something ? I'm interested as well.
Shapeoko #736
Kress 800, Z Axis upgrade, dual Y, 600mm X&Y rails, metal spacers and V Wheels, home switches, 4th axis
Goko - Free CNC Control Software - http://www.shapeoko.com/forum/viewtopic ... 380#p44380

Shook
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2015 6:50 pm
Location: Downingtown, PA

Re: 4th Axis?

Post by Shook » Tue Apr 19, 2016 5:57 pm

There's a guy on youtube (CNCNutz) that built his own 4th axis. I forget what he's using for cam / control
Shapeoko 3 (#1107)

Post Reply