Hardwood on Shapeoko 3?

Talk about all things CNC
Post Reply
estes53
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 12:57 am

Hardwood on Shapeoko 3?

Post by estes53 » Tue Jul 14, 2015 8:38 pm

Can anyone attest to the Shapeoko 3's ability to cut hardwood?

Thanx, Alan

WillAdams
Posts: 8489
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Hardwood on Shapeoko 3?

Post by WillAdams » Tue Jul 14, 2015 9:06 pm

The ShapeOko 1 could cut Ipê fine, so the SO3 should manage pretty much any hardwood w/ aplomb.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

LTEPM
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:34 am
Location: no where near the end of the rainbow

Re: Hardwood on Shapeoko 3?

Post by LTEPM » Wed Jul 15, 2015 12:20 am

I have used mine for alder, ash,maple, sassafras, purpleheart, padauk, cherry, walnut, and it works well, have cut up to 1 1/4" thick stock. You do need to adjust feed rate, speed, and depth of cut depending upon which hardwood you are cutting.


Takes a little trial and error to find the sweet spot.

JeromyReno
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: Hardwood on Shapeoko 3?

Post by JeromyReno » Wed Jul 15, 2015 4:46 pm

mine rips threw red oak like a charm .1875 two flute,50 ipm %45 step over .1875 depth, full depth passes other than the border was .1" passes at 30ipm

Image

garetbiglow
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:33 pm

Re: Hardwood on Shapeoko 3?

Post by garetbiglow » Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:53 am

Can you post an image/link of the end mill? Is that a straight two flute end mill? The edges look pretty clean (which makes me think it was a straight flute). Also what was you dewalt set to for speed? I'm trying to get a good source of end mills sorted out for exactly this type of cutting.
SO3 #0196

JeromyReno
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: Hardwood on Shapeoko 3?

Post by JeromyReno » Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:02 pm

of course, http://www.lakeshorecarbide.com/316carb ... gth-1.aspx , I have a super high precision collet too from precisebits.com http://www.precisebits.com/products/equ ... it!!!PG!!!

run at the highest speed the router will run at. I did hit the edges lightly with one of those foam sanding blocks with 500 or 600 grit. they where pretty smooth already, it was just to keep from splintering

edwardrford
Posts: 1250
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Dixon, IL
Contact:

Re: Hardwood on Shapeoko 3?

Post by edwardrford » Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:29 pm

@JeremyReno - thanks for the photos, those signs look great.

I posted a link to twitter: https://twitter.com/shapeoko/status/621778353964613632

-Edward
Shapeoko 1 #0 - a couple of upgrades.
Shapeoko 2 #0 - a couple of upgrades.
Shapeoko 3 #2 - Stock

JeromyReno
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: Hardwood on Shapeoko 3?

Post by JeromyReno » Mon Jul 20, 2015 2:46 pm

awesome! im glad you like them : )

Post Reply