Carbide 3D Touchplate?

Talk about all things CNC
Post Reply
James RS
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:29 pm

Carbide 3D Touchplate?

Post by James RS » Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:27 pm

Hello,
I was wondering if anyone has made a touchplate to use with the the Carbide 3d software?

Thanks,
Jim

WillAdams
Posts: 8604
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Carbide 3D Touchplate?

Post by WillAdams » Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:34 pm

Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

heathenx
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 10:59 am

Re: Carbide 3D Touchplate?

Post by heathenx » Tue Sep 01, 2015 3:22 pm

Yes, I made one. I soldered on a JST pigtail so I could leave a short end connected to the Carbide board all of the time and connect and disconnect the touchplate as needed. Once WillAdams got me sorted on the proper command to use with it (G38.2 Z-26 F100), it has worked flawlessly ever since. I use it on nearly ever job I cut.
Attachments
touchplate.jpg
touchplate.jpg (318.58 KiB) Viewed 948 times
Shapeoko 3, #405 / Dewalt 611 w/Super PIDv2, limit switches

James RS
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:29 pm

Re: Carbide 3D Touchplate?

Post by James RS » Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:47 pm

Ok how do you account for the thickness difference

WillAdams
Posts: 8604
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Carbide 3D Touchplate?

Post by WillAdams » Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:57 pm

Measure the touch plate in advance
Probe
Set the Z-axis zero to an offset which subtracts the thickness of the touch plate
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

James RS
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:29 pm

Re: Carbide 3D Touchplate?

Post by James RS » Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:06 pm

heathenx wrote:Yes, I made one. I soldered on a JST pigtail so I could leave a short end connected to the Carbide board all of the time and connect and disconnect the touchplate as needed. Once WillAdams got me sorted on the proper command to use with it (G38.2 Z-26 F100), it has worked flawlessly ever since. I use it on nearly ever job I cut.

Hello,
I've been doing some catching up and finally got to review this further. I saw where it was said to hookup to the probe tab on the S3 controller.
Is this how you did it? also the gcode you shared, where did you input this and does it save there so everytime you start it's there?

WillAdams
Posts: 8604
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Carbide 3D Touchplate?

Post by WillAdams » Sun Oct 18, 2015 11:04 pm

Yes.

Store the command as a macro in your comm / control program.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

Post Reply