SO3 Gantry Stiffness in Y direction

Talk about all things CNC
wunderaa

SO3 Gantry Stiffness in Y direction

Post by wunderaa » Mon Sep 14, 2015 9:01 pm

So I'm relatively new to CNC and have been poring over available information relating to the SO3 and many other platforms. I've put my unit through its paces with wood inlays, brass engraving and some aluminum milling. With all I've learned and experienced over the past couple of months, I've now come to what I feel is a shortcoming in the SO3 design: the stiffness of the gantry in the Y direction. Because the X axis is mounted to the front rail only (as opposed to straddling both sides like most machines) and because there is some play in the Z plate, this all adds up to Y directional flex. When I look at system limitations, feed rate seems to out rank all others because parts seem to start getting distorted. There was all this talk about how stiff the rails are (agreed!) but the gantry seems floppy in comparison.

Okay, so some numbers. I set up a 1/4" end mill in the collet and turned the unit on to hold everything in place. About 1" down on the end mill, I set up my dial indicator so I could measure deflection. Using one of those old spring-luggage scales, I applied about 2 lbs of force (or close enough...it's not really precise) in the 4 lateral directions of the bit. Results show below. Again, not terribly precise, but I'm building a case. And no, I didn't take a picture of the setup, as it was just for my curiosity at the time.

Negative Y - 0.114"
Positive Y - 0.111"
Negative X - 0.028
Positive X - 0.022