Carbide Motion Looses Z after job is complete

Talk about all things CNC
jbc
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: Visalia, CA
Contact:

Carbide Motion Looses Z after job is complete

Post by jbc » Tue Nov 03, 2015 9:09 pm

I am running two sets of gcode on my project.
The first uses an end mill to hog out material and the second uses a ballnose to get finer detail.

The first set of gcode works well and when the job is done everything goes back to zero nicely.
Then after maybe 10 seconds Carbide Motion (CM) stops communicating with my SO3.
If it kept the communication open I could load the other gcode and cut the rest exactly where I want it to.

But since it loses contact my cutter lowers down to an unknown position. I have to restart CM and set zero again (a new zero) before I run.

How can I keep CM's connection active so I can do a tool swap and make things purdy?

jbc
jbc
VCarvePro 8
3D Printing prototypes
Sketchup
http://www.CaffeineMachine.com

WillAdams
Posts: 8488
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Carbide Motion Looses Z after job is complete

Post by WillAdams » Tue Nov 03, 2015 9:48 pm

What we have on the wiki: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/ ... Connection

My inclination would be to concatenate the files w/ a suitable tool change command in-between the two parts.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

jbc
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: Visalia, CA
Contact:

Re: Carbide Motion Looses Z after job is complete

Post by jbc » Tue Nov 03, 2015 9:57 pm

Thanks Will.
Regarding Wiki- If I connect the SO3 for the first time (with or without loading some code) the machine will stay connected for a long time and hasn't ever had a problem during a cut. So no solution there.
It only looses connection after the job is done. Like a time out after completion.

As far as linking tool changes I'll have to look into that. I think that makes more sense.
I use Vcarve Pro 8 so will check there thanks.



jbc
jbc
VCarvePro 8
3D Printing prototypes
Sketchup
http://www.CaffeineMachine.com

dvdsnyd
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 5:08 pm
Location: North Branch, MN

Re: Carbide Motion Looses Z after job is complete

Post by dvdsnyd » Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:24 pm

Hi jbc,
Does the loss of connection occur when you power off the router?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jbc
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: Visalia, CA
Contact:

Re: Carbide Motion Looses Z after job is complete

Post by jbc » Tue Nov 03, 2015 11:04 pm

by dvdsnyd » Tue Nov 03, 2015 3:24 pm

Hi jbc,
Does the loss of connection occur when you power off the router?
Yes.
jbc
VCarvePro 8
3D Printing prototypes
Sketchup
http://www.CaffeineMachine.com

jbc
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: Visalia, CA
Contact:

Re: Carbide Motion Looses Z after job is complete

Post by jbc » Tue Nov 03, 2015 11:41 pm

Well now.
After your question, dvdsynd I was able to search and find a solution like another on the forum....sadly didn't pop up for me before.

The issue went away trying to repeat the problem AFTER I plugged the SO3 and the comp into the same outlet (sharing a common ground I guess).

Thanks.
jbc
jbc
VCarvePro 8
3D Printing prototypes
Sketchup
http://www.CaffeineMachine.com

jbc
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: Visalia, CA
Contact:

Re: Carbide Motion Looses Z after job is complete

Post by jbc » Wed Nov 04, 2015 2:22 am

I got my job done with me turning the router off once.
BUT after the second code load and job ran without an issue the router went back to its home position where I turned the motor off which then disconnected Carbide Motion.
:(

Back to the forum search.
jbc
VCarvePro 8
3D Printing prototypes
Sketchup
http://www.CaffeineMachine.com

jbc
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: Visalia, CA
Contact:

Re: Carbide Motion Looses Z after job is complete

Post by jbc » Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:51 pm

Update

I moved the power to the router away from all wires. They were all zip tied together as a poor cable management solution. Now they are away from each other.

I started and stopped the router multiple times without a disconnect. :D

I even found that turning the power switch to the SO3 on and off again maintained connection with Carbide Motion.
Moving the router for the next few moves or maybe 30 seconds as the data stream was re-established was a little wonky (hit 'Z' and machined moved 'X') but soon worked as intended.

jbc
jbc
VCarvePro 8
3D Printing prototypes
Sketchup
http://www.CaffeineMachine.com

jbc
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: Visalia, CA
Contact:

Re: Carbide Motion Looses Z after job is complete

Post by jbc » Wed Nov 04, 2015 8:49 pm

Scratch that.
14 minute run job. Turned off router power and Carbide Motion lost connection. :(
jbc
VCarvePro 8
3D Printing prototypes
Sketchup
http://www.CaffeineMachine.com

dvdsnyd
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 5:08 pm
Location: North Branch, MN

Re: Carbide Motion Looses Z after job is complete

Post by dvdsnyd » Mon Nov 09, 2015 3:15 pm

Hi jbc,
One thing to try is galvanic isolation of the USB connection from the computer to the Shapeoko.
The isololator that was recommended to me is this one:
http://www.saelig.com/MFR00151/UBUSB1001.htm
I can say that it has helped out my situation.
I also have some some torroids and ferrite beads on my router power cord and input power supply cord, here is the information copy and pasted from another thread:

I have the isolator along with several Ferrite beads. One large bead that has the router power cord wrapped through 4 times and two smaller "clamp-on" style ferrite beads that are on the power supply input cord.
With this setup, I was able to perform about 50 power cycles of my router without losing connection once. I did a similar test with my Shop Vac used for dust collection, powering it on and off 25-50 times and didn't get a drop out.

Here is the torroid that went on the router cord:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009N8 ... ge_o00_s00

Here are the clamp on ferrite beads that went on the input cord of the power supply:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00M2B ... ge_o09_s02

I have not tried removing the ferrite beads and trying just USB isolation.

It should also be mentioned that if you are having problems, it might be a good idea to send an email to Carbide 3D support.

Hope this helps,
Dave


I posted the same information in this thread:
http://www.shapeoko.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=6678

jbc wrote:Scratch that.
14 minute run job. Turned off router power and Carbide Motion lost connection. :(

Post Reply