Page 1 of 1

eshapeoko advice needed

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 9:24 am
by Dan123
Hello

I dont no anything a out these cnc i have mine all assembled and can go in g code sender and get it to communicate and I can type in example x10 and it moves etc but I don't have limit switches installed on my machine I belive I don't have to have them I was playing around with it and typed y-100 it moved back then I wanted to move it to the other end so I typed y 200 and it crashed into the side I don't want to keep doing this as it cannot be good for it i want to know how I stop it from doing that and is the starting point in the middle or is it in the bottom left corner (looking straight at the machine) I don't know if there is a tutorial about this or somthing like that I hope you can help I've tried to explain this the best I can but like I said I'm a total beginner to this

Also does this save the settings once I've stopped it from crashing etc?

Thanks Dan

Re: eshapeoko advice needed

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 1:23 pm
by WillAdams
Newer versions of Grbl have support for soft limits which will prevent that sort of thing, AIUI.

Fortunately, for beginners, belts are very forgiving.

I'd suggest working through the Hello World and other beginning things on the wiki:

http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page

Re: eshapeoko advice needed

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 7:51 pm
by Dan123
Thank you I will do just that

Re: eshapeoko advice needed

Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 4:20 pm
by DRobs86
Doesnt he need switches so he can run a homing cycle for soft limits to work?

I could be remembering things wrong, but I think soft limits are ignored unless homing has been run. Please correct me if I am wrong