touch probe

Talk about all things CNC
Post Reply
Jeff
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:33 pm

touch probe

Post by Jeff » Fri Mar 29, 2019 12:41 pm

I am building kitchen cabinets. I want to use a 3/8" plunge router bit.
In my design the vectors for the dado extend pas the out side of the wood.
So with that said If i do a x & y probe with the .25end mil, then can I change to the 3/8"dia bit and do the top Z touch off to the top of the material
Will that work.
Jeff

Picengraver
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 5:05 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: touch probe

Post by Picengraver » Sat Mar 30, 2019 12:07 pm

Should work if your gcode file calls for the 3/8 bit. The X/Y zero point should remain the same unless you move the spindle when changing bits. Why can't you set X/Y with your 3/8 bit?

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: touch probe

Post by WillAdams » Sat Mar 30, 2019 1:20 pm

Yes, that will work.

X and Y probing has to be done with a matching/supported endmill to get the center position, but once it's established, it's invariant for any endmill which is installed.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

Jeff
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:33 pm

Re: touch probe

Post by Jeff » Sat Mar 30, 2019 1:28 pm

So then I can do what I said in the last line.
And once the x and y are set I can move the gantry up and away to do a tool change and a Z probe to the top only with a 3/8" 2 flute bit, load the file and run from there Right ?
Jeff

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: touch probe

Post by WillAdams » Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:18 am

Yes, that should work.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

Jeff
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:33 pm

Re: touch probe

Post by Jeff » Sun Mar 31, 2019 10:57 am

So could you explain why it makes a difference which size bit you are going to use. To do the xyz phobe.
Jeff

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: touch probe

Post by WillAdams » Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:16 pm

The probing is done from the edge of the endmill --- the system needs to calculate the distance from that edge to the center, which requires that the diameter be known.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

Jeff
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:33 pm

Re: touch probe

Post by Jeff » Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:11 am

thanks I got it
Jeff

Post Reply