Recommendation for End Mill and Dw660

jkanzaki

Recommendation for End Mill and Dw660

Post by jkanzaki » Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:53 pm

Hello All,
I am pretty new to CNC and I've been having hard time choosing which end mill for the DW660. Also where will be a good source for buying end mill that wouldn't break my bank? ;)
Which end mill do you generally need for your dw660 (both 1/8 and 1/4) since there are so many type out there. I would like to do plastic milling and aluminum milling.

Thanks Guys
Shapeoko 1 - dissassemble
Shapeoko 2 - 1 x 1m expansion TinyG, superPid, Dw660, Aluminum extrusion bed, Nema 23, acme, Z axis upgrade, Dual Y
Shapeoko 3 - 0051 Stock Dw611, SuperPid, limit switch, 9mm belt

WillAdams
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15

Re: Recommendation for End Mill and Dw660

Post by WillAdams » Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:57 pm

There's some information in the wiki: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/End_mills

but I'd really like to see it expanded upon.

There's been some discussion on the forums, but little consensus, though ISTR Edward R. Ford suggesting that one just use a basic 2 flute 1/8" straight endmill to start until one reaches its limits.

Drillman1 on eBay is often used as a supplier, and Inventables does have some in stock --- not sure what the situation is in Europe....
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

Gadgetman!

Post by Gadgetman! » Thu Aug 29, 2013 7:25 pm

Definitely Drillman1 on eBay.
His prices makes it a decent alternative even for us living in Europe.

$4 for a 2flute endmill? Mark me up for 2... And a couple of other sizes... and... and...

Even picked up a set of PCB drills. ;-)

I haven't even gotten my kit, yet, and I'm already buying lots of expensive bits for it.
This is going to be an expensive hobby...
Weird guy...
Shapeoko 2014F: 1000mm X/Y, 300W Quiet Cut spindle, Arduino Uno/G-shield and GRBL 0.9i