Page 1 of 5

How to mount DW660?

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 2:45 am
by zenwebb
I've been trying to figure out what spindle to get for quite a while, and have been leaning towards the DeWalt DW660. However, I'm having trouble figuring out how to mount it to my Z axis. I only ordered the mechanical kit from Inventables, and the spindle mount hardware doesn't look big enough to hold the DW660.

I've seen a DW660 mount on the wiki, but it only lists the design files and G-code to actually mill it. Bit of a Catch-22: how do I mill it if I don't have a functioning milling machine? Do I actually need to buy a crappy $20 spindle just to make the mount for a better spindle? Seems like a waste to me :S Any advice?

Re: How to mount DW660?

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:59 am
by Improbable Construct
I have an old set of DW660 mounts that have vacuum mounts on them.
I can send them to you if you want.
The vacuum mounts can be easily cut off.
I will even cut them off for you if you want.
PM me with your address and I will put them in the mail.

Re: How to mount DW660?

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:37 am
by fito
Just zip tie the spindle to the z axis and mill a set of mounts from some relatively soft material (uhw cutting board or wood) Should work well. Then if you want you can mill a better set from some harder materials such as hardwoods.

Re: How to mount DW660?

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2012 7:22 pm
by edwardrford
I believe the dw660 will fit into the standard mounts somewhat haphazardly. But You can then cut a proper set from another material as mentioned above.

Edward

Re: How to mount DW660?

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 4:38 pm
by roberlin
I got mine to fit in the standard mounts. Don't remember if I used the stock bolt length, though.
It wasn't very square. But was (sort of) good enough to cut new mounts.
The new new mounts I cut with the new mounts were even better.

Re: How to mount DW660?

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 2:05 am
by Aaron Seltzer
roberlin wrote:I got mine to fit in the standard mounts. Don't remember if I used the stock bolt length, though.
It wasn't very square. But was (sort of) good enough to cut new mounts.
The new new mounts I cut with the new mounts were even better.
Care to share your new mount design?

Re: How to mount DW660?

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:17 pm
by roberlin
Aaron Seltzer wrote: Care to share your new mount design?
I didn't make a new design-- just used Edward's. What I meant was that when I cut it out with the Dewalt in the standard mount, the new mount wasn't perfect
(the face which was supposed to bolt onto the z-axis was not square) due to the limitation of the standard mount.
But then when I cut out another copy with the new mount it looked great.

Honestly, I might not have bothered with the second set except that I managed to crack one of the mounts from the first set while putting in the Dewalt.

Re: How to mount DW660?

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 9:42 pm
by pourcirm
Anyone know exactly where I can find the mount files? Or even better would anyone be willing to machine me a set? I had a rough day and burnt out my cheap spindle and then broke my top mount trying to remove it. If I have to buy a new tool I figure I'll go with something that has more upgrade potential, but since I snapped one of my mounts I'd rather not have to cut a new one by hand.

Re: How to mount DW660?

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:16 pm
by Improbable Construct
The mount files are on the github and I think they are also on the wiki page for the DW660 under the upgrades section.
I might be able to cut you a set tomorrow but I can't guarantee it.

Re: How to mount DW660?

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:26 pm
by levlandau2
@pourcirm

I would be happy to mill and send you a mount. Email me (vladimir.d.makarov@gmail.com)