URGENT ERROR - WILD LOOP!

an open source, web based CAM package that works!
philIam
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:13 pm

URGENT ERROR - WILD LOOP!

Post by philIam » Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:08 pm

Hey,

When I make the following profile makercam always send my machine for one absolutely WILD loop almost like its trying to F with me. then it continues on with its business.

GCODE ATTACHED GO NUTS ON IT!

But when that one wild loop happens it just shuts the machine down bc it dives into parts that it shouldn't.

I'm thinking this is a makercam code error, anyone else have this? Any solutions if its not makercam?

Thanks!
Attachments
Outline Section C.nc
(70.57 KiB) Downloaded 68 times

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: URGENT ERROR - WILD LOOP!

Post by WillAdams » Sat Aug 23, 2014 3:37 pm

Not sure if this will help or no:

Remove the G40 --- it's not supported --- ditto for T0 M6 and M3 and M5 and M30.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

criznach
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 5:28 pm
Location: Great Falls, Montana, USA

Re: URGENT ERROR - WILD LOOP!

Post by criznach » Sat Aug 23, 2014 4:07 pm

M3 and M5 work but I don't think they'll do anything unless you use GRBL to turn your spindle on and off. But the others are not...

philIam
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:13 pm

Re: URGENT ERROR - WILD LOOP!

Post by philIam » Sat Aug 23, 2014 4:28 pm

Iam using grbl. So you guys think that could be the issue.

criznach
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 5:28 pm
Location: Great Falls, Montana, USA

Re: URGENT ERROR - WILD LOOP!

Post by criznach » Sat Aug 23, 2014 5:27 pm

philIam wrote:Iam using grbl. So you guys think that could be the issue.
I think G40 (cutter radius compensation) could cause problems if the rest of the code depends on it. EDIT: Maybe not, it looks like it's clearing any cutter offset. From the gcode it looks like your part is around 10" X, 2-3" Y, and 0.25" Z. Sound correct? Can you post a photo of what it did?

philIam
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:13 pm

Re: URGENT ERROR - WILD LOOP!

Post by philIam » Sat Aug 23, 2014 5:33 pm

Hey,

Here it is.

It was just running fine then its like it caught an edge and just suicide dove. Which commands should I remove? Thanks!
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (198.81 KiB) Viewed 1544 times

philIam
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:13 pm

Re: URGENT ERROR - WILD LOOP!

Post by philIam » Sat Aug 23, 2014 5:37 pm

That lighter J mark is just yet another anomalie that happens on first pass through and then never again... unless that deeper cut is it resurfacing... not sure.

My piece is smack dab in the middle of the working plane, if that helps.

Woodworker
Posts: 639
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:37 am
Location: 5 miles north of Benson, NC

Re: URGENT ERROR - WILD LOOP!

Post by Woodworker » Sat Aug 23, 2014 5:39 pm

Always at the same place? Did you have the issue with any other parts you have made?
BRuce - SO2 #4798 - IC's Z axis upgrade, customized Z rail and Z motor mount, spindle Dewalt 611

philIam
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:13 pm

Re: URGENT ERROR - WILD LOOP!

Post by philIam » Sat Aug 23, 2014 5:41 pm

Yea its always typically in the same place +/- a few mm's.

Yes, this has happened to me before but I have had symptom free cuts as well.

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: URGENT ERROR - WILD LOOP!

Post by WillAdams » Sat Aug 23, 2014 5:48 pm

Random == mechanical failure most likely --- loose belt, slipping pulley --- might be electrical interference, or perhaps an under-powered or overheating stepper, but I don't think it's software.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

Post Reply