S3 stops mid-job

apspurgeon
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 9:18 am

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by apspurgeon » Tue Jan 26, 2016 4:25 am

If anyone still having issued (I thought I solved this with earthing, shielding and isolation....until I moved location of my S03) put a 1000uf capacity across the 24v power line. The SO3 board has a connector and can plug straight on. I posted a video showing significant stepper 'hold' noise, and greatly reduced by this 1000uf cap.

I would always get failures with my garage door opening, even with all the shielding...and would switch it off for jobs. I've yet to have a failure when with the door going up/down now.

B NEGATIVE
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by B NEGATIVE » Tue Jan 26, 2016 6:18 am

Do you have a pic of the modification?

UltiArjan
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by UltiArjan » Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:51 am

Support shipped me a new electronics board, posted there full reply here;
http://www.shapeoko.com/forum/viewtopic ... 378#p59378
-------------------------------------------------
Shapeoko3 #1331, Makita RT0700
Ultimaker2, Ultimaker2+E3Dv6 (abs only)

KAScnc
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 1:27 am

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by KAScnc » Tue Jan 26, 2016 11:43 am

I've tried just about everything here and still disconnect somewhat frequently with the SparkFun Stepoko.

What makes it worse is the lack of reply's from sparkfun support. 3 emails sent over 4 weeks with not one reply.

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by WillAdams » Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:30 pm

If Sparkfun isn’t being helpful, please try again, mentioning the number of times you’ve tried, and CC:zing support@carbide3d.com
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

HDVideo
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:33 pm

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by HDVideo » Tue Jan 26, 2016 2:06 pm

KAScnc wrote:I've tried just about everything here and still disconnect somewhat frequently with the SparkFun Stepoko.

What makes it worse is the lack of reply's from sparkfun support. 3 emails sent over 4 weeks with not one reply.
Well that's not very encouraging. I was hoping the SparkFun controller would be less susceptible to the disconnect problem. Their apparent lack of support for their own product is also worrisome.

aidenwolf
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 1:44 pm

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by aidenwolf » Tue Jan 26, 2016 2:13 pm

Just wondering KAScnc, reading through your posts, did you try the USB isolator?

Fablicator
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:59 pm

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by Fablicator » Tue Jan 26, 2016 3:53 pm

To update:

I got the new PCB in the mail on Friday and got it installed ASAP.

Sadly it didn't solve my issue at all. (I got a disconnect almost every time I turned off the router)

I finally gave in and figured out how to run a new line from the breaker to my worktable. With the electronics on one and the router on another my issue is finally solved.

Carbide support seems to have been working really hard to get everyone with the issue squared away, so no complaints there.

All is well that ends well as far as I'm concerned.

Shook
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2015 6:50 pm
Location: Downingtown, PA

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by Shook » Tue Jan 26, 2016 5:27 pm

I hooked up the new board on Sunday after shoveling 3ft of snow. I ran four copies of a quick job starting and stopping the DeWalt between each iteration. (Technically, I ran it 5 times because I didn't give myself enough room on the X axis when I first setup the job).

I didn't have any USB disconnects throughout the process. I *did* have UGS just crash without an error message once, but that's not the same problem I'd been experiencing before. Also, it's an older nightly build so I'm more apt to blame that one on UGS.
Shapeoko 3 (#1107)

Atonwa
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 2:54 pm
Location: Corning, NY

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by Atonwa » Tue Jan 26, 2016 5:44 pm

Heads up for the people that got the new board. There were no instructions with it but maybe you caught it when you installed. One of the mounting screws now has a pad under it to help ground the machine. I didn't even notice it when I installed the new board last night and just added a metal flat washer right now. I have a few more jobs to run this afternoon to see if there is a difference.

I haven't had a single disconnect while running a job today but still have the disconnects when trying to change the bit during longer runs. Anytime the router power is cycled (doesn't matter the switch or automatically through a relay) I lose the COM port and have to restart my comp and Shapeoko completely. I say it happens half as frequently now though. I ran a job this morning with 6 tool changes and was able to change 4 out of the 6 without disconnecting which was nice.

I'll report back after testing again with it properly grounded. I already have my router on a separate circuit.
Shapeoko 3 #109
Routakit HD Beta #001

Post Reply