eshapeoko advice needed

Talk about all things CNC
Post Reply
Dan123
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 8:08 am

eshapeoko advice needed

Post by Dan123 » Mon Jul 18, 2016 9:24 am

Hello

I dont no anything a out these cnc i have mine all assembled and can go in g code sender and get it to communicate and I can type in example x10 and it moves etc but I don't have limit switches installed on my machine I belive I don't have to have them I was playing around with it and typed y-100 it moved back then I wanted to move it to the other end so I typed y 200 and it crashed into the side I don't want to keep doing this as it cannot be good for it i want to know how I stop it from doing that and is the starting point in the middle or is it in the bottom left corner (looking straight at the machine) I don't know if there is a tutorial about this or somthing like that I hope you can help I've tried to explain this the best I can but like I said I'm a total beginner to this

Also does this save the settings once I've stopped it from crashing etc?

Thanks Dan

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: eshapeoko advice needed

Post by WillAdams » Mon Jul 18, 2016 1:23 pm

Newer versions of Grbl have support for soft limits which will prevent that sort of thing, AIUI.

Fortunately, for beginners, belts are very forgiving.

I'd suggest working through the Hello World and other beginning things on the wiki:

http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

Dan123
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 8:08 am

Re: eshapeoko advice needed

Post by Dan123 » Mon Jul 18, 2016 7:51 pm

Thank you I will do just that

DRobs86
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:19 am

Re: eshapeoko advice needed

Post by DRobs86 » Tue Jul 19, 2016 4:20 pm

Doesnt he need switches so he can run a homing cycle for soft limits to work?

I could be remembering things wrong, but I think soft limits are ignored unless homing has been run. Please correct me if I am wrong

Post Reply