Touch Probe

General Discussion about anything!
Post Reply
Jeff
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:33 pm

Touch Probe

Post by Jeff » Sun May 12, 2019 12:58 pm

My question
After you do the initial XYZ with a end mil and then change the bit to a vbit and do just the Z probe. and run the tool path.
how many bit changes can be done just setting the Z before you loose your X and Y
Or does it not loose that until you turn off CM
The other question is if I want to use the paper touch off for a Z setting what do I need to do to set that in the program.
Jeff

WillAdams
Posts: 8486
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Touch Probe

Post by WillAdams » Mon May 13, 2019 6:51 pm

You shouldn't lose position, but each time you do a tool change, there's a chance that you'll nudge the machine off by a step --- best practice is to re-home at least.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

Jeff
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:33 pm

Re: Touch Probe

Post by Jeff » Tue May 14, 2019 10:53 am

Will when I do a tool change and use just the Z prob with the block on top of the wood and it does it's thing do I need to click on a zero button on the screen. Or does it set it automatically
Jeff

Jeff
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:33 pm

Re: Touch Probe

Post by Jeff » Tue May 14, 2019 10:56 am

After I set the xyz and then do a tool change it is ok to move the router to another location and raise it to change the bit then set the probe on top of the wood and do the Z probe?
Jeff

WillAdams
Posts: 8486
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Touch Probe

Post by WillAdams » Thu May 23, 2019 6:01 pm

Yes, that's the recommended technique for using an unsupported endmill.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

Post Reply